Daily Archives: September 12, 2007

Correction to a story you probably haven’t read yet

Point of personal privilege
By Corrin Strong, Editor

The LC News is out today with their report on Monday’s Planning Board meeting by Howard Appell. In it Howard reports that I interrupted a site plan matter to make my protest about FOIL. This makes a good story, one that I’m sure my political opponents will enjoy spreading, it just doesn’t happen to be true.

Because the room was crowded I waited in the hall until the site plan matter was concluded. As I entered the room, I heard Chairman Folts say, “We will now take up the Newman DEIS.” It was at that point that I sought the floor.

Even though I was not in the meeting until then, others had told me in the hall that Folts had agreed to put me on the agenda at the end of the meeting. This was not acceptable to me, because my point was to protest the FOIL violation before the vote, not after it was a done deal.

Fearful that something like this might happen, (I’ve known Howard too long), I e-mailed LC News Editor Mark Gillespie Tuesday morning and asked if I could purchase a political ad on my usual spot on the op-ed page. My intention was to explain my side of what had happened.

I was informed that the newspaper was full and no more ads could be accepted. When I saw the newspaper today I discovered why: there is no op-ed page this week. It’s normal place is taken by a full-page, full-color pro-Lowes ad paid for by our friends from Newman Development!

In other correction matters, the News also printed a letter from District Attorney Tom Moran disputing the quotes attributed to him in last week’s story critical of Judge Patricia Mark’s delay in the appointment of a Special Prosecutor in Petitiongate. Ironically, in the letter, Moran also discloses that there will probably be more delay.

That’s because the Prosecutor appointed, Dale Worrall of the Rochester Law Firm of Harris Beach, will have to withdraw because of a conflict of interest. It is not known when a new prosecutor will be appointed.